Welcome to EcnaLab!

by Alexandra Carmichael

I don’t have all the answers. When it comes to finding balance, sometimes I get it backwards (hence the name of this blog). But it’s a subject I feel compelled to study. After 4 years of blogging, I decided I wanted to have a theme that encompasses and flows through everything I write about. The word balance immediately popped up – why?

balanceIs it because I’m a libra, because I practice tai chi, because I live a life of extremes that often feels UNbalanced? Maybe a bit of each, and maybe I’m part of the universal quest for balance that drives people as diverse as evolutionary biologists, moms, professional athletes and pilots through their daily lives.

Or maybe, as Lewis Carroll wrote,

“But I don’t want to go among mad people,” Alice remarked.
“Oh, you can’t help that,” said the Cat: “we’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad.”
“How do you know I’m mad?” said Alice.
“You must be,” said the Cat, “or you wouldn’t have come here.”

Well… I’m quite sure we’re not all mad here, but we are all seeking balance, or we wouldn’t be here, right?

I don’t have all the answers, but I do have a few. And I’m ready to find more. Come along and join me on the journey.

