What is Right and Wrong?

by Alexandra Carmichael

My amazing friend Ryl Brock Wilson runs the ArtAsAccess blog, which had this wonderful post on using art to explore beyond our ideas of right-doing and wrong-doing.

An excerpt:

Rumi wrote:

Beyond our ideas of right-doing and wrong-doing,
there is a field. I’ll meet you there.

When the soul lies down in that grass,
the world is too full to talk about.

Ideas, language, even the phrase ‘each other’
doesn’t make sense any more.

This piece of prose has been working me for years now and still touches my heart and peaks my curiosity. My ego cannot make sense of it and my soul already knows the deep truth of it. I long for the freedom of an open heart, the spaciousness of being and the place beyond my ideas of right-doing and wrong-doing.

This month’s inquiry  is “beyond our ideas of right-doing and wrong-doing”. This month notice both your ideas of right-doing and wrong-doing especially in regards to yourself, your experience,  feelings, thoughts, and actions. Also notice the moments without judgments and expectations where it may feel empty, quiet and expansive.

Thank you, Ryl, for your constant inspiration and modeling of a beautiful way of living.

